Meg the Artillery Mule

I did promise I’d keep blogging my progress on my paper on the 90th anniversary of the Somme. Well, progress is slow, but I have picked up on a couple of things. First is this English Heritage recreation, which I sadly don’t now have time to go and see. Damn. The other was a very useful visit to see the Head Historian at the Imperial War Museum, Nigel Steel. I haven’t had a chance to ask Nigel whether I can put elements of our conversation (all uncontroversial) online, so I’ll just relate for the moment that he thought that there had been a large amount of press coverage of the anniversary, gave me a lot of press cuttings and a couple of useful pointers. I’m currently working on getting some more information from other institutions, including the BBC and the NAM.

One Response to Meg the Artillery Mule

  1. […] One of the most distinctive features about the most recent anniversary of the Somme is an increased emphasis on recreation. Previous posts have noted the media interest in the group of living historians helped by the National Army Museum who marched along the battlefront and attended commemorations, and the existence of a living ‘trench experience’ supported by English Heritage. This move seems to me to have resulted from three things: a growing concentration on ‘experiencing’ history, the attractiveness as a story/means of publicity¬† of ‘feeling’ the past, and a shift of the war into a category of historical events which we feel strongly about, but which are far enough away that they can be entertainment. It’s just been brought to my attention that the Imperial War Museum and the Old Vic are launching a project to allow local citizens to ‘bring the Somme to life’ in a series of performances at the IWM in mid-November. The project is supported by the National Lottery Fund. I only wish I lived in Lambeth so I could join. The press release reads: […]

Leave a Reply

