The First World War in stereoscope

(Thanks to Michelle Rhoades, via the Society for First World War Studies discussion list, apologies for cross posting).
A new set of First World War photos, from a private collection, posted on a French site. These images (some of which are pretty grisly) were originally produced in stereoscope.
You can see an original example on the site. The idea was to create a three dimensional effect. It might at first seem curious that anybody would want a 3-D picture of dead bodies, yet the images and viewers were an important means of imaginative participation in the war for non combatants at the time and after. Althought there was a vital line of separation between front line soldiers and civilians based on experience, we shouldn’t believe that those who didn’t fight were completely ignorant (at the time and after) of the horrors of the trenches.

8 Responses to The First World War in stereoscope

  1. Linnie says:

    Thanks to my father who told me concerning
    this webpage, this blog is in fact awesome.

  2. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am
    impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such
    information much. I was looking ffor this particular information for a very long time.
    Thank yyou and bwst of luck.

  3. Wow, that’s what I was looking for, what a stuff! present here at this blog, thanks admin of this web site.

  4. Josie says:

    Thanks for any other informative web site. The place else may I am getting that type of information written in such an ideal means?
    I have a undertaking that I am just now operating on, and I’ve been on the look out for such info.

  5. This piece of writing will assist the internet
    visitors for building up new webpage or even a
    blog from start to end.

  6. I visited several web sites but the audio feature for audio
    songs current at this web page is truly excellent.

  7. Amazing issues here. I am very happy to see your article.
    Thanks a lot and I am taking a look ahead to touch you.
    Will you please drop me a mail?

  8. Gaye says:

    I am no longer sure the place you are getting your information, however great topic.

    I needs to spend some time studying much more or working out more.
    Thanks for magnificent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

Leave a Reply

